Canada eh?

16 September, 2009

Cliche title, I know. But I couldn’t help myself.

If you couldn’t tell yet, I have made it up to Canada. I am actually writing this from a VW Westfalia outside a rad contact’s house. That is where I have been sleeping.

Anyways, for those of you who don’t already know this, the Pacific Northwest is absolutely gorgeous. Driving up through Oregon, we stopped in Portland for a night and stayed at an ex-Roadie’s house. The house was amazing, built in 1911 and the walls were lined with books. I kept thinking about how much I would love to live in a house like that, and in such an amazing city… until I heard that it was the 2nd largest city in the US for unemployment… wamp.

Next we drove up through Washington and stayed in s little town near Olympia. Even though we had to spend most our time cooped up in a little coffee shop working away at our tour, I stole the occasional glance outside to see the stunning mountains that surrounded me.

The very next day we entered into Canada, and boy we were pretty nervous about driving a van packed to the brim (and I tell you… this thing is PACKED) with merchandise… but we don’t want the border to know or else we might be taxed. Lawfully of course, but we need all the money we can get right now so that it can go straight to Uganda and not Canada, no offense guys. But I loved that the first thing I saw when I entered Canada was llamas. That just made my day.

That night Brian and I continued our journey up to Kelowna, which is yet another rad city (is anyone starting to see a pattern here?). It’s been really great driving hour after hour with Brian and getting to really now him. We stayed at yet another awesome house that was built in the 1800’s.

Needless to say, my time spent in Canada, though it has been pretty stressful with plenty of sleep deprivation, has been beyond pleasant. So many trees.

But now I must get some shut-eye before another chalk full day of screenings and booking. Hopefully I can grab some free time to post some pictures. Until then…

Peace and Love,

Forrest

One Response to “Canada eh?”

  1. Rae said

    At least you’re getting to shower on the road this time! Haha… we don’t want no stinking Forrest!

Leave a comment